

Wireless Innovation Forum Announces 2015 Wireless Innovation Achievement Award Winners

METIS Project's Development of 5G radio channel models , John Chapin of DARPA, Preston Marshall of Google, and Ken Dingman of Harris take home awards

WASHINGTON, D.C., USA, March 22, 2016 /EINPresswire.com/ -- The <u>Wireless Innovation Forum</u>, a non-profit international industry association dedicated to driving the future of radio communications and systems worldwide, today announced the winners of their annual Achievement Awards. Technology of the Year was given to the METIS Project's Development of 5G radio channel models and International Achievement to John Chapin of



DARPA. President's Awards were given to Preston Marshall of Google and Ken Dingman of Harris. Paper of the year was awarded to "Improving Robustness of a Cognitive Radio Engine," by Hamed Asadi (University of Arizona, USA); Haris Volos (DENSO International America, USA); Michael Marefat and Tamal Bose (University of Arizona, USA). Winners were announced at the Wireless Innovation Forum Conference on Communications Technologies and Software Defined Radio (<u>WInnComm</u> 2016), 15-17 March in Reston, Virginia.

The Technology of the Year award is presented to an individual or organization for a breakthrough product or technology in the field of Software Defined or Cognitive Radio as selected by the members. The METIS project's Development of 5G radio channel models received the award due to its contribution to the future development of the next-generation communications (5G) by developing a complete new set of radio channels models based on realistic end-user scenarios and requirements. These new models will enable the testing and optimization of next-generation radio devices in a very wide set of the frequency spectrum, from relatively low frequencies in the current cellular frequency bands to centimetre and millimetre wave frequencies. These models will therefore help to speed up development of the next generation of wireless technology.

The Forum International Achievement Award is presented to an individual, group of individuals, or organization that made especially significant contributions to international furtherance or acceptance of Software Defined or Cognitive Radio. Dr. Chapin of DARPA was awarded for scientific leadership in efficient use of spectrum through the DARPA Radio Map and SSPARC programs, each exploring new ways to more efficiently use spectrum.

The President's Award is presented to individuals in recognition of their sustained outstanding contributions in support of the Wireless Innovation Forum and its activities. This year both the Forum's Spectrum Sharing Committee and Coordinating Committee on International SCA Standards had significant accomplishments and leaders worth recognition.

Preston Marshall, Google

The FCC began proceedings of the 3.5GHz band in early 2013 in which the Forum was an active participant with four filings supporting our member's positions, commending the Commission's actions and supporting creation of an Industry Multi-stakeholder group. The Forum took an aggressive stance to take the role of the Multi-stakeholder group and formed the Spectrum Sharing Committee in early 2015. Since the formation, the SSC has grown from X to Y members through active promotion of the Forum and the activities of the SSC. The person who has worked tirelessly on this is Preston Marshall.

Ken Dingman, Harris

Ken Dingman has been an active leader in the CC SCA Steering Committee. In January, the Forum endorsed the SCA4.1 specification after providing nine recommendations and developing two standards. He has played an active role in the Forum serving on the board of directors for many years and has held the position of Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer of the Forum for the majority of his time on the board. His merits are not only for his significant impacts on the organization and work products of the Forum but also his personal initiative going far beyond the responsibilities of his positions.

For past award winners, visit http://www.WirelessInnovation.org/SDR Achievement Awards.

Supported by Sponsors Google, Finmeccanica, Motorola Solutions, Thales, and Pentek, WInnComm is the premier event to present and see the latest in Cognitive Radio (CR) and Dynamic Spectrum Access technologies, as well as CR and Software Defined Radio programs and requirements, features daily Keynote presentations from recognized leaders in advanced wireless communications, three days of technical presentation s, workshops, tutorials and more. http://Conference.WirelessInnovation.org

PR courtesy of Online PR Media.

Stephanie Hamill Wireless Innovation Forum 970-290-9543 email us here

This press release can be viewed online at: http://www.einpresswire.com

Disclaimer: If you have any questions regarding information in this press release please contact the company listed in the press release. Please do not contact EIN Presswire. We will be unable to assist you with your inquiry. EIN Presswire disclaims any content contained in these releases. © 1995-2018 IPD Group, Inc. All Right Reserved.