

2016 Adventure Writers Competition winner is John Thomas Everett for "Maseah Mountain".

Dirk Cussler awards "The Clive" Grandmaster trophy to Mr. Everett at the 2016 Clive Cussler Collector's Society Convention.

ARVADA, COLORADO, USA, October 8, 2016 /EINPresswire.com/ -- John <u>Thomas Everett</u>, a Baltimore writer, has won the 2016 Adventure Writers Competition's Grandmaster award for his sweeping adventure and self-discovery novel "Maseah Mountain".

"This comes as a total surprise to me," said Mr. Everett. "Given the quality of writing and the excitement generated by the work of the other finalists, my selection by the organization is humbling and, at the same time, very satisfying."

In attendance for the ceremony were the members of the Clive Cussler Collector's Society, past Adventure Writers Competition award recipients, and Mr. Everett's fellow finalists <u>Ken Barnett</u>, author of "Skeletons of Weavers Needle" and <u>John R. Monteith</u>, author of "Rogue Fortress".

Dirk Cussler presented the award during the final evening of the convention during a dinner held at the Clive Cussler Museum in Arvada, Colorado.

"It is a real honor to be able to judge the three finalist's entries. And as is always the case, it is an extremely difficult job," said Dirk. "All three manuscripts were really great. I read them back to back, and as a reader, I went from dodging torpedoes in the South Pacific, to wrestling grizzly bears in the Idaho



The AWC Grandmaster Award



wilderness, to digging up fourteen-foot aliens in the Arizona desert. It was a real treat reading them all."

"This was our largest field ever," said competition director Peter Greene. "Adventure writers looking for a contest that exists solely to recognize their brilliance and assist them in their writing career are encouraged to enter. We just want to help. All proceeds go to the award, promoting the winners and the contest."

The Adventure Writers Competition is sponsored by the Cussler Family, the Clive Cussler Collector's society, Sven Gillhoolie Publishing and



2015 finaist James Marshall Smith, 2016 finalist Ken Barnett, 2008 winner Jeff Edwards, 2016 finalist John Monteith, 2016 winner John Thomas Everett, 2010 winner and competition director Peter Greene

NavyThriller.com. In its seventh year, the competition is open to new and recently published novels in the adventure genre. Traditionally published, self-published and unpublished manuscripts are accepted. The 2017 Adventure Writers Competition will open for submissions in March of 2017. Please see the competition's website for rules and entry information.

www.adventurewriterscompetition.com

٢

It is a real honor to be able to judge the three finalist's entries. And as is always the case, it is an extremely difficult job!

Dirk Cussler

Peter Greene The Adventure Writers Competition 4808360205 email us here

This press release can be viewed online at: http://www.einpresswire.com

Disclaimer: If you have any questions regarding information in this press release please contact the company listed in the press release. Please do not contact EIN Presswire. We will be unable to assist you with your inquiry. EIN Presswire disclaims any content contained in these releases. © 1995-2016 IPD Group, Inc. All Right Reserved.