

NSMA Announces Finalists for 2020 Awards, 2021 Hall of Fame Class

More than 300 will vie for NSMA Hall, National, State Awards in December's final balloting

WINSTON-SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA, UNITED STATES, November 18, 2020 /EINPresswire.com/ -- The National Sports Media Association has released its final ballot for the NSMA's 2020 awards and 2021 Hall of Fame class. Among the first-timers appearing on the Hall of Fame ballot are sportscasters Tim Brando, Tom Jackson, and Dick Stockton. First-time



sportswriter finalists are the late Peter Finney, and Larry Merchant.

The lone addition to the 2020 National Sportscaster of the Year finalists is ESPN's Doris Burke, who was not on the final ballot last year after winning the 2018 National Sportscaster of the Year Award.



Once again, our members have nominated some of the best practitioners of sportscasting and sportswriting that this country has to offer. It's the first step in honoring the best of the best..."

Dave Goren, NSMA Executive
Director

Two first-timers headline the 2020 National Sportswriter of the Year finalists: Nicole Auerbach of The Athletic and Adam Schefter of ESPN.com.

There are 296 finalists for NSMA's state sportscaster and sportswriter of the year awards. Those awards are contested in 49 states, plus the District of Columbia.

"Once again, our members have nominated some of the best practitioners of sportscasting and sportswriting that this country has to offer," said NSMA executive director

Dave Goren. "It's the first step in honoring the best of the best, as a way to pass down our history through the generations."

The full list of finalists can be found at nationalsportsmedia.org.

NSMA members provide the nominations for the 2020 state and national awards, while a group of current Hall of Famers provides nominations for the Hall of Fame.

The final ballot will be sent to NSMA members on December 1, with voting open until December 31.

Award winners and Hall of Fame inductees will be informed individually during the first week of January. They will be announced during the second week of January, and honored during the 61st NSMA Awards weekend, June 26-28, 2021, in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Any US-based sports media who wishes to participate in the final balloting may do so by <u>joining</u> the NSMA as a premier, lifetime, or AIPS (International Sports Press Association) member before the voting deadline of December 31.

Dave Goren
National Sports Media Association
+1 336-655-2976
email us here
Visit us on social media:
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn

This press release can be viewed online at: https://www.einpresswire.com/article/530985423

EIN Presswire's priority is source transparency. We do not allow opaque clients, and our editors try to be careful about weeding out false and misleading content. As a user, if you see something we have missed, please do bring it to our attention. Your help is welcome. EIN Presswire, Everyone's Internet News Presswire™, tries to define some of the boundaries that are reasonable in today's world. Please see our Editorial Guidelines for more information.

© 1995-2021 IPD Group, Inc. All Right Reserved.