

34 Connecticut STEM Leaders Designated as 2023 Women of Innovation® Awardees

CTC celebrates the trailblazing class of 2023 - women & girls inspiring visionary leadership in scientific research, education, manufacturing & entrepreneurship

HARTFORD, CT, U.S., July 11, 2023 /EINPresswire.com/ -- The Connecticut Technology Council (CTC) is excited to announce the 2023 Women of Innovation®. Thirty-four exceptional Connecticut women have been notified that they will be recognized for their achievements in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) at the 18th annual Women of Innovation® awards.

The October 25th event from 5 PM to 7 PM is WOI's first in-person ceremony since 2019 and will be held at Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven.

The prestigious awardees were selected from a field of over 80 nominees – scientists, researchers, academics, manufacturers, student leaders, entrepreneurs, and technicians who are catalysts for scientific advancement throughout Connecticut.

The 2023 Women of Innovation® are:

Youth Innovation and Leadership:

Aditi Bhattamishra - Student, Amity Regional High School Katherine Chan - Student, Joel Barlow High School Emma Conway - Student, Suffield High School Ana-Lois Davis - Student, CREC Academy of Aerospace & Engineering Sundra Lu - Student, Avon High School

Collegian Innovation and Leadership:

Jennifer Moses Arulraj Moses - Undergraduate, Southern Connecticut State University Fei Dou – Ph.D. Candidate, University of Connecticut Audrey Larson - Undergraduate, UConn, co-Founder, Geomate LLC and Unfolded LLP Alyssa Matz - Undergraduate, UConn School of Medicine Hephzibah Rajan - Undergraduate, Quinnipiac University

Academic Innovation and Leadership

Marissa Barreto - Lead Magnet Teacher, Aero/Hydrospace Engineering & Physical Science Magnet High School

Laurie Caines - Associate Professor of Medicine, UConn Health Center

Ivana Milanovic - Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace & Acoustical Engineering, University of Hartford

Patricia Rinaldi - Chemistry Teacher, Wilton High School

Paula Zimbrean MD - Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Surgery (Transplantation), Yale School of Medicine

Community Innovation and Leadership

Gwendolyn Brantley - Founder & Executive Director, ACCESS Educational Services, Inc. Dana Gilland – Senior Vice President, Environmental Social Governance, ApiJect Systems Corporation

Jennifer Good – Chief Executive Officer, Trevi Therapeutics, Inc.

Corporate Innovation and Leadership

Michelle Johnson - Chief Executive Officer, Metrum Research Group Katie Cubina - Senior Vice President, Missions Program, Mystic Aquarium Michelle Madden - Materials Engineering Operational Military Engines Lead, Pratt & Whitney

Nancy Miller - Senior Manager. Project Engineering Systems Project Engineering Triumph Group

Ioana Stanescu - Manager of Systems Engineering, HyAxiom

Rebecca Velez Frey - President & Chief Executive Officer, Siduma Therapeutics, Inc. Venture Partner Elm Street Ventures

Brittany Zabinsky - Associate Director, Pratt & Whitney

• Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership

Leila Daneshmandi - Co-founder and COO of Encapsulate and Assistant Professor of Innovation & Entrepreneurship at UConn School of Engineering Stacey duBell Mileti - Chief Executive Officer, Unisoft Medical Corporation Michelle Frank - Chief Growth Officer, Goodroot, Inc.

• Research Innovation and Leadership

Rosalie Bordett - Graduate Researcher, UConn Health Center Elise Courtois - Director, Single Cell Biology Lab & Senior Research Scientist, The Jackson

Laboratory

Akiko Iwasaki - Sterling Professor of Immunobiology and Professor of Dermatology and of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology and of Epidemic (Microbial Disease) Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Inst., Yale University Katherine Kayser-Bricker - Chief Scientific Officer, Halda Therapeutics Inc. Bronwyn Power - Associate Director, Pratt & Whitney Leslie Shor - Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, UConn School of Engineering

"Since the first Women of Innovation event that I attended, I have been extremely impressed with the great contribution these outstanding women have had and continue to have on the technology ecosystem and our society. The winners and finalists in the High School category are especially astounding; they have accomplished more in 17 or 18 years than most people do in a lifetime," says Giovanni Tomasi, President/Chief Technology Officer of RSL Fiber Systems and Board Chair of CTC.

Finalists were selected based on innovativeness and accomplishments in science and technology, independent research, as well as academic achievement and community service.

Milena Stankova Erwin, CTC's new Executive Director noted: "Congratulations to all the award finalists! I am excited to honor them and celebrate their accomplishments and their contributions. The Connecticut Technology Council is proud to host the Women of Innovation event with the support of our members, sponsors, and partners."

The 18th annual Women of Innovation® awards event is sponsored by Medtronic, Axinn, Veltrop and Harkrider LLP, The University of Connecticut, Connecticut Department. of Economic & Community Development, State of Connecticut, and FuelCell Energy, Inc., with Supporting Level Sponsorships and Scholarship funding from Carillon Technologies, Empowering Pathways, HyAxiom, Nel Hydrogen, iCleanse, Precision Combustion, Inc., Nassau Financial Group, RSL Advanced Lighting Technologies, The Jackson Laboratory, Carol (Hylton Bravo) Thorney and Visual Technologies, Inc.

All nominees had to meet the following minimum requirements: currently working or studying in Connecticut, demonstrate strong leadership abilities, and serve or previously served as a mentor, either short or long-term, peer mentor, career mentor or life mentor. Nominees must also meet the specific requirements of the award for which they were nominated.

For further information on supporting WOI, contact Sheryl O'Connor, at soconnor@wealthconductor.com or Carol Thorney, at carol.thorney@avanade.com

About The Connecticut Technology Council:

CTC is a statewide, member-based trade association focused on uniting and growing

Connecticut's technology community by connecting leaders, driving public policy, and providing needed resources to growing tech companies. CTC works with its members and the community to advance Connecticut's reputation as a tech-centered state.

Milena Erwin Connecticut Technology Council executive.director@ct.org Visit us on social media: LinkedIn

This press release can be viewed online at: https://www.einpresswire.com/article/643954921

EIN Presswire's priority is source transparency. We do not allow opaque clients, and our editors try to be careful about weeding out false and misleading content. As a user, if you see something we have missed, please do bring it to our attention. Your help is welcome. EIN Presswire, Everyone's Internet News Presswire™, tries to define some of the boundaries that are reasonable in today's world. Please see our Editorial Guidelines for more information.

© 1995-2023 Newsmatics Inc. All Right Reserved.