

CT Technology Council's 2023 Women of Innovation® Award Winners in STEM to be Announced on October 25

CT Technology Council's 2023 Women of Innovation® Award Winners in STEM to be Announced on October 25

HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT, UNITED STATES, October 23, 2023 /EINPresswire.com/ -- Connecticut's current and future leaders in science. technology, engineering, and mathematics – and their contributions to innovation and breakthroughs, career opportunities and advancement, economic growth and the state's future - will be highlighted at the 18th annual Women of Innovation® awards, presented by the Connecticut Technology Council. The awards ceremony, recognizing the 34 finalists and announcing winners in seven categories, will be held on Wednesday, October 25, 5 PM-7 PM at Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven.

For tickets to the awards presentation, go to www.ct.org/womenofinnovation by Tuesday, October 23. The exceptional 34 finalists were selected



from a field of over 80 nominees – scientists, researchers, academics, manufacturers, student leaders, entrepreneurs, and technicians who are catalysts for scientific advancement throughout Connecticut.

The 18th annual Women of Innovation® sponsors are led by long-time supporter Medtronic

(Platinum); Axinn, Veltrop & Harkrider LLP and Day Pitney LLP (Gold); University of Connecticut (Silver); and Connecticut Department of Economic & Community Development; FuelCell Energy, Inc.; and McCarter & English (Bronze). Supporting sponsors are Bento Engine, Carillon Technologies, Empowering Pathways LLC, HyAxiom Inc., iCleanse, KeyBank, Nassau Financial Group, NBT Bank, Nel Hydrogen, Precision Combustion, Inc., RSL Advanced Lighting Technologies, Thorney Advisors, and Visual Technologies Inc. Scholarship funding provided by Carillon Technologies, FuelCell Energy, and The Jackson Laboratory. Media Sponsor is WTNH News 8; program emcee is news anchor Sarah Cody. Category awards will be presented by lead sponsors.

"Since the first Women of Innovation event that I attended, I have been extremely impressed with the great contribution these outstanding women have had and continue to have on the technology ecosystem and our society. The class of 2023 certainly have earned this distinction," said Giovanni Tomasi, President/Chief Technology Officer of RSL Advanced Lighting Technologies and Board Chair of CTC.

"The Connecticut Technology Council is proud to host the Women of Innovation event with the support of our members, sponsors, and partners," said Milena Stankova Erwin, CTC's newly appointed Executive Director. "Congratulations to all the award finalists! We are excited to honor them and celebrate their impressive accomplishments and their noteworthy contributions."

All nominees had to meet the following minimum requirements: currently working or studying in Connecticut, demonstrate strong leadership abilities, and serve or previously served as a mentor, either short or long-term, peer mentor, career mentor or life mentor. Nominees must also meet the specific requirements in the award category in which they were nominated.

About the Connecticut Technology Council: CTC is a statewide, member-based trade association focused on uniting and growing Connecticut's technology community by connecting leaders, driving public policy, and providing needed resources to growing tech companies. CTC works with its members and the community to advance Connecticut's reputation as a tech-centered state.

2023 Women of Innovation® Academic Innovation and Leadership

- •Marissa Barreto Lead Magnet Teacher, Aero/Hydrospace Engineering & Physical Science Magnet High School
- •Dr. Laurie Caines Associate Professor of Medicine, UConn Health
- •Ivana Milanovic Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace & Acoustical Engineering, University of Hartford
- •Patricia Rinaldi Chemistry Teacher, Wilton High School
- •Paula Zimbrean MD Associate Professor of Psychiatry & Surgery (Transplantation), Yale School of Medicine

Community Innovation and Leadership

- •Gwendolyn Brantley Founder & Executive Director, ACCESS Educational Services, Inc.
- •Dana Gilland Senior Vice President, Environmental Social Governance, ApiJect Systems Corporation
- •Jennifer Good Chief Executive Officer, Trevi Therapeutics, Inc.

Corporate Innovation and Leadership

- •Michelle Johnson Chief Executive Officer, Metrum Research Group
- •Katie Cubina Senior Vice President, Missions Program, Mystic Aquarium
- •Michelle Madden Lead, Materials and Processes Engineering, Operational Military Engines, Pratt & Whitney
- •Nancy Miller Director, Project Engineering, Triumph Group
- •loana Stanescu Manager of Systems Engineering, HyAxiom Inc.
- •Rebecca Velez Frey President and CEO, Siduma Therapeutics, Inc. Venture Partner, Elm Street Ventures
- •Brittany Zabinsky Component Integrated Product Team (CIPT) Leader, Pratt & Whitney

Entrepreneurial Innovation and Leadership

- •Leila Daneshmandi Co-Founder and COO, Encapsulate
- •Stacey duBell Mileti Chief Executive Officer, Unisoft Medical Corporation
- •Michelle Frank Chief Growth Officer, Goodroot, Inc.

Research Innovation and Leadership

- •Rosalie Bordett Graduate Researcher, UConn Health
- •Elise Courtois Director, Single Cell Biology Lab; Senior Research Scientist, The Jackson Laboratory
- •Akiko Iwasaki Sterling Professor, Immunobiology & Professor, Dermatology & Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, Yale University
- •Katherine Kayser-Bricker Chief Scientific Officer, Halda Therapeutics Inc.
- •Bronwyn Power Associate Director, Pratt & Whitney
- •Leslie Shor Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education, UConn School of Engineering

Collegian Innovation and Leadership

- •Jennifer Moses Arulraj Moses Graduate Student, Southern Connecticut State University
- •Fei Dou 2023 Graduate, University of Connecticut
- Audrey Larson Undergraduate, UConn, co-Founder, Geomate LLC and Unfolded LLP
- •Alyssa Matz Ph.D. Candidate, UConn School of Medicine

•Hephzibah Rajan – 2023 Graduate, Quinnipiac University

Youth Innovation and Leadership

- •Aditi Bhattamishra Student, Amity Regional High School
- •Katherine Chan Student, Joel Barlow High School
- •Emma Conway Student, Suffield High School
- •Ana-Lois Davis Student, CREC Academy of Aerospace & Engineering
- •Sandra Lu Student, Avon High School

Milena Erwin Connecticut Technology Council executive.director@ct.org

This press release can be viewed online at: https://www.einpresswire.com/article/663650097

EIN Presswire's priority is source transparency. We do not allow opaque clients, and our editors try to be careful about weeding out false and misleading content. As a user, if you see something we have missed, please do bring it to our attention. Your help is welcome. EIN Presswire, Everyone's Internet News Presswire™, tries to define some of the boundaries that are reasonable in today's world. Please see our Editorial Guidelines for more information.

© 1995-2023 Newsmatics Inc. All Right Reserved.