

## Wound Healing Society Annual Award Winners

The Wound Healing Society (WHS) recently held its annual spring meeting and awards ceremony this past May in Orlando, Florida.

BEVERLY, MASSACHUSETTS, UNITED STATES, June 24, 2024 /EINPresswire.com/ -- The Wound Healing Society (WHS) recently held its annual spring meeting and awards ceremony this past May in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. Michael Longaker of Stanford School of Medicine, gave this year's Thomas K. Hunt lecture on "Wound Repair, Fibroblast Heterogeneity, and Regeneration." The Thomas K. Hunt Honorary Lecture is named after a founding member and Past President of WHS, and is awarded to an individual that has made significant scientific and/or clinical contributions to a field relevant to wound healing.

Dr. Trevor Leonardo of the University of Illinois at Chicago received the Dr. Anita B. Roberts Award for his article "Transcriptional Changes in Human Palate and Skin Healing." The award is given annually to a graduate student or post-doc trainee who is the first author of the article selected as the best research article published in Wound Repair and Regeneration. The WoundShark Innovation Competition for new product innovations had a tie for first place, Daniel Holsworth of Eluciderm Inc. and Allison Cowin of University of South Australia.

## Full Awardee List:

Thomas K. Hunt Honorary Lecture: Michael Longaker

Dr. Anita B. Roberts Award: Trevor Leonardo

Lifetime Achievement Award Lisa Gould

WHS Research Grant: Mateusz Wietecha

Young Investigator Award: Alex Cheong (winner), Anita Yadav (finalist), Jingbo Pang (finalist), Anu

Sharma (finalist), Sunil Kumar, Rahul Debnath and Jacob Ancira

Excellence in Translational Science: Kanhaiya Singh and Jelena Marjanovic

Junior Faculty Travel Grant: Kellen Chen

Trainee Travel Awards: Elizabeth Townsend, Daniel Stewart, Li Diao and Parnian Jabbari

Industrial R&D Poster Award: Jennifer Neff

SAWC Physician Scholarship Award: Sik Namgoong SAWC Research Scholarship Award: Craig Tipton

WHS Summer Research Fellowship Award: Dany Matar

WoundShark Innovation Competition: Daniel Holsworth of Eluciderm Inc. and Allison Cowin of

University of South Australia

Early-Career Faculty Award: Artem Trotsyuk and Arthur Tarricone Mid-Career Faculty Award: Subhadip Ghatak and Alex Ortega Loayza

For more information on the WHS awards and <u>annual conference</u>, please visit: <u>https://woundheal.org/Awards/</u>

Founded in 1989, the Wound Healing Society (WHS) is the premier scientific organization focused on wound healing. A nonprofit organization composed of clinical and basic scientists and wound care specialists, the mission of the WHS is to improve wound healing outcomes through science, professional education, and communication. The WHS provides a forum for interaction among scientists, clinicians, and other wound care practitioners, industrial representatives, and government agencies. The WHS is open to individuals who are interested in the field of wound healing and presently comprises more than 2000 members in the United States and other countries.

Wound Healing Society
WHS
+1 978-927-8330
email us here
Visit us on social media:
Facebook
X
LinkedIn
Instagram
YouTube

This press release can be viewed online at: https://www.einpresswire.com/article/722429849

EIN Presswire's priority is source transparency. We do not allow opaque clients, and our editors try to be careful about weeding out false and misleading content. As a user, if you see something we have missed, please do bring it to our attention. Your help is welcome. EIN Presswire, Everyone's Internet News Presswire™, tries to define some of the boundaries that are reasonable in today's world. Please see our Editorial Guidelines for more information. © 1995-2024 Newsmatics Inc. All Right Reserved.