

Texas State Historical Association Announces 2025 Award and Fellowship Recipients

AUSTIN, TX, UNITED STATES, January 31, 2025 /EINPresswire.com/ -- The Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) proudly recognizes the recipients of its 2025 awards and fellowships, celebrating exceptional contributions to Texas history through research, education, and scholarship. These distinguished honors highlight individuals whose work preserves and promotes the rich history of Texas.

Leadership in Education and Research

- Mary Jon and J.P. Bryan Leadership in Education Award:
- o Dusty Williams, Howe ISD
- o Christina Marie Villarreal, Ph.D., University of Texas at El Paso
- John W. Crain Texas History Education Award:
- o Lisa Mouton, Bryan ISD
- Kate Broocks Bates Award for Historical Research:
- o James Aalan Bernsen, The Lost War for Texas: Rebels, American Burrites, and the Texas Revolution of 1811 (TAMU Press)

Fellowship Recipients

- Mary M. Hughes Research Fellowship in Texas History: Hannah Shepherd Crossing Borders,
 Facing Barriers: Immigration Policy and Societal Perceptions of British Indian Immigrants in Early
 20th-Century El Paso, Texas
- Larry McNeill Research Fellowship in Texas Legal History: Justice John G. Browning Forgotten Firsts: Chronicling Texas' Black Legal Pioneers
- John H. Jenkins Research Fellowship in Texas History: Todd Copeland Baylor University, Slavery, and Ann Freeman
- Lawrence T. Jones III Research Fellowship in Civil War Texas History: Daniel Caponio Straining Rebel Lines: How Apache Raids Engendered Confederate Defeat in the Desert
- Catarino and Evangelina Hernández Research Fellowship in Latino History: Laura Narvaez She Who Controls the Meetings: Addressing Intersectional Issues in Chicana-Led Conferences in Texas, 1971–1977

Book and Article Awards

- Ron Tyler Award for Best Illustrated Book on Texas History and Culture:
- o Victoria Henness Cummins and Light Townsend Cummins Making the Unknown Known: Women in Early Texas Art, 1860s–1960s (TAMU Press)
- Coral Horton Tullis Memorial Prize for Best Book on Texas History:
- o Holly M. Karibo Rehab on the Range: A History of Addiction and Incarceration in the American West (UT Press)
- Randolph B. "Mike" Campbell Award:
- o 1st Place: Lewis Fisher Brackenridge Park
- o 2nd Place: Sylvia Gann Mahoney Great Western Trail
- o 2nd Place: Ahmed Deidan de la Torre Allen Brooks
- H. Bailey Carroll Award for Best Article in the Southwestern Historical Quarterly:
- o Frank de la Teja Slavery and Antislavery in the Hispanic World and Texas, 1789–1827
- Al Lowman Memorial Prize:
- o Tara Martin López Chuco Punk: Sonic Insurgency in El Paso (UT Press)
- Liz Carpenter Award for Best Book on the History of Women:
- o Victoria Henness Cummins and Light Townsend Cummins Making the Unknown Known: Women in Early Texas Art, 1860s–1960s (TAMU Press)
- Gail and Chuck Swanlund Award for Best Texas History Anthology:
- o Brandon T. Jett and Kenneth Howell Steeped in a Culture of Violence: Murder, Racial Injustice, and Other Violent Crimes in Texas, 1965–2020

Lifetime Achievement and Special Recognitions

- Kay Bailey Hutchison Award for Women's Achievements in Texas History:
- o Opal Lee
- o Joanne King Herring

2025 TSHA Fellowship Inductions

- · Lewis F. Fisher
- Hugh Allen Anderson
- John Crain

The recipients will be recognized at the TSHA Annual Meeting, where they will be celebrated for their contributions to Texas history.

For more information about TSHA awards and fellowships, please visit tshaonline.org/awards.

Raymond DeVuono Texas State Historical Association +1 512-471-3272 email us here

Visit us on social media:

Facebook

X LinkedIn Instagram

This press release can be viewed online at: https://www.einpresswire.com/article/782185497 EIN Presswire's priority is source transparency. We do not allow opaque clients, and our editors try to be careful about weeding out false and misleading content. As a user, if you see something we have missed, please do bring it to our attention. Your help is welcome. EIN Presswire, Everyone's Internet News Presswire™, tries to define some of the boundaries that are reasonable in today's world. Please see our Editorial Guidelines for more information.

© 1995-2025 Newsmatics Inc. All Right Reserved.