

American College of Tax Counsel Elects New Fellows

ROCHESTER, NY, UNITED STATES, May 19, 2025 /EINPresswire.com/ -- At a meeting held on May 9, 2025, in Washington, D.C., the Board of Regents of the American College of Tax Counsel (the "College") elected the following seven new Fellows into its ranks:

"

The backgrounds, talent, and experience these new Fellows bring to the College will allow them to make an immediate and valuable contribution to our many important projects and initiatives."

Michael J. Desmond, President of the American College of Tax Counsel Thomas Brennan of Harvard Law School, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Bridget Crawford of Pace University Law School, White Plains, New York

John Hackney of Chamberlain Hrdlicka, Atlanta, Georgia Nathaniel Pollock of SouthBank Legal, Washington, DC Michael Sardar of Kostelanetz, New York, New York Benjamin Tompkins of Nardiello Turanchik Tompkins, Washington, DC

Francesca Ugolini, former Chief of the Appellate Section of the Tax Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, DC

To become a Fellow of the College, individuals must be

nominated by a current Fellow and then evaluated by a committee of the College's Board of Regents. Criteria for membership in the College include having been a member of the bar of one or more states of the United States (or the District of Columbia, possessions, or territories of the United States) for at least 15 years prior to the date of their election to membership as a Fellow in the College, with a career that is principally devoted to tax law and tax-related matters. Prospective Fellows must be currently engaged in (or retired or semi-retired from) full-time legal work, either in a private law practice, a corporate legal or tax department, a governmental legal position, a trade association, a law or business school or other graduate-level teaching position, or a combination thereof. For all prospective Fellows, demonstration of a high standard of excellence and ethical conduct in the practice of tax law, e.g., through substantial bar association involvement and significant writing or speaking activity, is required.

Michael J. Desmond, President of the College, welcomed the seven new Fellows, noting that "in this dynamic and challenging time for tax administration, the range of backgrounds, talent, and experience these new Fellows bring to the College will allow them to make an immediate and valuable contribution to the important projects and initiatives we are working to advance."

About the American College of Tax Counsel

The American College of Tax Counsel, founded in 1981, is a nonprofit association of tax attorneys in private practice, law, business, graduate school teaching positions, and government, who are recognized for their excellence in tax practice and their substantial contributions and commitment to the legal profession. One of the chief purposes of the College is to provide a mechanism for input by tax attorneys into the development of U.S. tax laws and policy. A nineteen-member Board of Regents serves as the governing body of the College, with one Regent drawn from each of the thirteen federal judicial circuits, plus two at-large positions. The Board is rounded out by the four members of its Executive Committee: President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer, and Immediate Past President. The College can be found online at https://www.actconline.org/.

Pamela Lyons
American College of Tax Counsel
+1 888-549-4177
email us here
Visit us on social media:
LinkedIn

This press release can be viewed online at: https://www.einpresswire.com/article/814042999

EIN Presswire's priority is source transparency. We do not allow opaque clients, and our editors try to be careful about weeding out false and misleading content. As a user, if you see something we have missed, please do bring it to our attention. Your help is welcome. EIN Presswire, Everyone's Internet News Presswire™, tries to define some of the boundaries that are reasonable in today's world. Please see our Editorial Guidelines for more information.

© 1995-2025 Newsmatics Inc. All Right Reserved.